To obtain the annual permit for a Fixed Food Establishment from Harris County Public Health - Environmental Public Health Division (EPH), the applicant must follow these Plan Review steps:
To obtain a Fixed Food Establishment annual permit from EPH, an establishment must follow these Plan Review steps:
- Submit to the EPH office:
- Complete the Application here.
- Applications must be completed using Google Chrome. Safari is not a supported browser at this time.
- Plan Review fee - Plan Review fees are non-refundable. Please ensure Harris County Public Health is your regulatory jurisdiction before the fee is paid. Harris County Public Health’s regulatory map can be found here. Harris County Public Health’s regulatory map can be found here.
- The Sample Menu, Floor Plan, Equipment Plan, & the Owner’s US-Approved Identification must be uploaded to submit the application.
- Note: Once submitted, the applicant does not have access to the completed application until after EPH reviews the application.
- Plan Review Conference Appointment - EPH will send an email invitation to all addresses listed on the application within five (5) business days to schedule the plan review appointment. This appointment is held virtually using Microsoft Teams. During the appointment, EPH will determine compliance with applicable laws, rules, and regulations for the submitted equipment floor plan. This step can be expedited*
- Document Submittal - At the end of the plan review appointment, EPH sends an email to all addresses listed on the application containing a URL / hyperlink that serves as a portal to submit required documents. The applicant or their designated representative must upload all required documents to obtain approval for the pre-opening inspection using that URL.
- The URL / hyperlink is the establishment’s application number in parenthesis (A0001234) and is located in the body of the email.
Examples of documents that may be required include:
- Water Approval – A Customer Service Inspection Certificate and Water District Approval Letter completed and signed by the MUD representative OR approved well and septic information.
- A Certificate of Compliance from Harris County Fire Marshall for Fire Code Review, Harris County Engineering Division (713) 274-3900 or approved Certificate of Occupancy from local jurisdiction.
- A Certified Food Manager certificate for an employee of the establishment.
- A State of Texas Sales Tax Permit Taxpayer ID. Contact the Texas Comptroller at www.window.state.tx.us or 1-800-252-5555
- Pre-Opening Inspection - After the approval of all required documents, EPH sends an email to all listed on the application stating that the business is ready for the pre-opening inspection. The EPH staff assigned to the inspection will contact the business to schedule the pre-opening inspection.
- Pre-Opening Inspections are scheduled within 10 business days.
- Expedited* Pre-Opening Inspections are scheduled within 2 business days.
The business can open after the pre-opening inspection, permit approval, and purchase of the HCPH permit. A re-inspection fee will be charged if the business does not pass the inspection.
*EXPEDITE FEE: the indicated steps can be expedited with payment of the expedite fee. Contact Plan Review for eligibility.