
What can you do to help the 
county eliminate public 
nuisances? 
When a public nuisance (as defined in 
this brochure) occurs in your neighbor-
hood, file a complaint with HCPH  
Environmental Public Health division.  If 
the nuisance remains unabated 30 days 
after a county abatement notice has been 
received by the owner or occupant of the 
property in question, the health inspector 
may ask your assistance in identifying the 
owner/operator and acting as a witness in 
court.  In addition to criminal prosecution 
sought by HCPH, you may file a civil 
suit in the county or district courts.  

What about abandoned 
property? 
If the property in violation of the 
Neighborhood Nuisance Abatement Act is 
abandoned, a procedure known as a “title 
opinion” is conducted to determine the 
owner of the property.  A notice is sent to 
the property owner named in the title 
opinion.  If the site remains unabated and 
the notice to the owner is not received, a 
notice in a newspaper of general 
circulation may be run for two (2) consec-
utive days in a 10-day period.  If the own-
er still does not respond to the notice, the 
nuisance may be abated by the county 
with the cost being charged to the owner 
and a lien placed on the property. 

3 Ways to File a Complaint  

1. Call: (713) 274-6300

2. Fax: (713) 274-6375

3. Online at: http://mobileapp.hcphes.org

Please Help Us Help You 

Before calling HCPH to file a complaint: 

 obtain a correct address of the complaint
site (name of street, street number, near-
by cross street).

 obtain the legal description of the property
in question, if possible
(name of subdivision, lot number, block
number).

 obtain the name and address of the own-
er and/or name of the occupant of the
property in question, if possible.
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What is the Neighborhood  
Nuisance Abatement Act (NNAA)? 
The NNAA is a law* designed to abate  
public nuisances in unincorporated areas of 
Texas counties.  *Chapter 343 of the 
Texas Health and Safety Code. 
 

What does "abatement" mean? 
Abatement is the elimination of a nuisance 
by removal, repair, rehabilitation or  
demolition. 
 

What constitutes a "public  
nuisance"? 
Public nuisances are grouped into seven (7) 
categories: 
 
1. Keeping, storing or accumulating  

trash on property in a neighborhood un-
less the trash is entirely contained in an 
enclosed container. 

 
2. Keeping, storing, or collecting trash/junk  

or any unused, discarded or abandoned 
object, including newspapers, vehicles, 
refrigerators, stoves, furniture, tires and 
cans on property in a neighborhood for 
ten days or more, unless the trash or  
object is completely enclosed within a  
building or is not visible from a public 
 
 

3.  Maintaining property in a manner that  
     leads to an unsanitary condition likely to      
     attract mosquitoes, rodents, vermin or 
     other disease-carrying pests. 

4. Allowing weeds to grow on developed  
property in a neighborhood if such weeds 
are located within 300 feet of another  
residence or commercial business. 

 What are weeds?  Weeds are any  
unplanted growth or matter that is over 36 
inches in height or, regardless of height, 
may create an unsanitary condition or  
become a home for rodents, vermin or any 
other disease-carrying pests. 

 
5. Maintaining a building in a manner that  is 

structurally unsafe or creates a hazard to 
health, safety or public well-being because 
of poor maintenance, unsanitary condition,  

      damage, fire hazard, or abandonment. 
 
6. Maintaining a swimming pool on any  

property in a neighborhood that is not  
protected with a fence that is at least four 
feet high and that has a latched gate that 
cannot be opened by a child, or protected 
by a cover over the entire swimming pool 
that cannot be removed by a child.  
 

7. Maintaining a swimming pool on aban-
doned and unoccupied property that is not 
protected by a pool cover over the  
entire pool that cannot be removed by a 
child, and a fence at least four feet high 
that has a latched and locked gate. 

 

Do the seven (7) listed categories 
of public nuisances apply to any 
location within the unincorporated 
areas of Harris County? 
No.  Categories 1, 2, 4 & 6 apply only to 
neighborhoods.  A neighborhood is defined 
as a recorded, platted subdivision or any 
property next to a recorded, platted  
subdivision and within 300 feet of the  
platted subdivision. 
 

When does a nuisance become an 
offense? 
A person commits an offense if the  
nuisance (as defined above) remains una-
bated after the 30th day from which a per-
son receives a notice from a county official, 
agent or employee to abate the nuisance.  
Each subsequent day a violation occurs is 
a separate offense. 
 

What procedures are available to 
the county to eliminate nuisanc-
es? 
If a person fails to abate a nuisance after 
30 days from receiving a notice, criminal 
prosecution or civil action may be started. 




